Canadian Skilled Worker List

canadian-skilled-worker-listThe Federal Skilled Worker Program is available for applicants who will be able to economically establish themselves in Canada. It is a path to permanent residency in Canada for many, but it is also a very strict program with serious requirements you must meet in order to be accepted.

How the Federal Skilled Worker Program Works

When you apply for the Federal Skilled Worker Program you must be experienced in a certain type of job. When being assessed for the program, applicants are tested on a points-based system. As they meet various criteria, they are awarded a certain amount of points. The more criteria they meet, the more points they are given. It takes 67 out of 100 points to qualify. These points are awarded for things like education, language proficiency, potential adaptability, whether you have a job offer and your work experience.

For example, a high level of education such as a PhD can get you up to 25 points, language proficiency in English or French can get you up to 24 points, and your age can get you 10 points (the younger you are, the more points).

In order to qualify for this program, applicants must have one year of continuous, full-time, paid work experience within the last 10 years and this work experience must be found on the NOC Job list. The NOC List, or National Occupation Classification, is a Canada-wide classification system of various jobs, skills or occupations.

What is the NOC Skilled Worker List?

Sometimes informally known as the Skilled Worker Job List, the NOC or National Occupational Classification is a list of job types in Canada. It provides a single standard for every kind of job description using a four-digit code. While it’s used to determine job types for the Federal Skilled Worker Program, the NOC list is used across Canada for statistics, analyzing trends and other things.

Basically, it helps make the job description for different job types across Canada the same.

For the Federal Skilled Worker Program, workers must typically qualify under skill type 0 managerial occupations, skill level A professional occupations or skill level B technical occupations and skilled trades.

How can you Immigrate to Canada Through the Federal Skilled Worker Program?

Are you interested in becoming a permanent resident of Canada and think you may qualify under the Skilled Worker Program? We can make sure you are eligible and help you apply. Call us today!

Michael Niren

About Michael Niren

Michael is a graduate of Osgoode Hall Law School in Toronto. He is a member of the Law Society of Upper Canada, the Canadian Bar Association’s Citizenship and Immigration Section and the Associate Member of the American Bar Association. Read more

The content and comments of this blog are not legal advise and and may not be accurate or complete. If you require legal advice, contact a licensed legal practitioner directly. If you post on this blog, you assume full responsibility for disclosing your identity to the public and VisaPlace nor its affiliates are not responsible for protecting your privacy nor your identity concerning your participation in our blog and you assume any risks in participating.

Customer Reviews

Spectacular experience. Completely smooth process, they were able to answer any of my questions any time and I had peace of mind throughout the application time, which was invaluable. I have recommended them to other friends looking for assistance with their applications, and will continue to do so. Worth every penny.

Faith Cheongin the last week

Here, I would like to say thank you so very much for your kind support on extension my visit visa. I am touched and beyond words, I am grateful and thankful for your always help and cooperation. Have a wonderful day.

Setareh Rasaeiin the last week

Great law firm with great staff. My lawyer Rania did a great job for my Canadian work permit and my daughters study permit. You are great in your work. And my Para Legal officer Alicea, you are just amazing. They did not rest until my job was promptly and properly done. Always there to answer my calls, reply my emails promptly. She tried her best and the results were amazing. I recommend visa place if you need the best immigration job. Many thanks to Rania and Alicea.

Charity Musa2 months ago